Compare › Robinhood vs Public
Robinhood vs Public: fees and fine print
Full transfer-out: Robinhood $0 vs Public $100; cash rate: Robinhood 3.6% APY (Gold) vs Public 3.30% APY, per each broker's official pages (checked Oct 30, 2026).
Last updated · 9 official sources (listed below)
The costs that don't show up in "$0 commissions": leaving, reverse splits, tender offers, and what idle cash earns. Every cell links to the broker's own page.
Where they differ
- Full ACATS transfer-out fee: Robinhood $0 vs Public $100
- Partial transfer-out fee: Robinhood $0 vs Public $100
- Reverse split / mandatory reorg fee: Robinhood Not published vs Public $50
- Fractional shares after a reverse split: Robinhood Keeps fractions (usually) vs Public Not published
- Voluntary reorg / odd-lot tender fee: Robinhood $0 vs Public $50
- Fractional share trading: Robinhood Yes vs Public Yes ($5 min)
- Rate on uninvested cash: Robinhood 3.6% APY (Gold) vs Public 3.30% APY
| Fact | Robinhood | Public |
|---|---|---|
| Full ACATS transfer-out fee | $0 Fee schedule lists one outgoing ACATS fee; no full/partial split. source · Oct 30, 2026 | $100 source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Partial transfer-out fee | $0 Same single line as full transfers. source · Oct 30, 2026 | $100 Schedule doesn't split full vs partial. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Reverse split / mandatory reorg fee | Not published | $50 Plus a $0.99 'reverse split trading expedited processing' fee per sell order if you buy before a reverse split and sell within 90 days after it. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fractional shares after a reverse split | Keeps fractions (usually) Round-ups are paid when received from the issuer. source · Oct 30, 2026 | Not published |
| Voluntary reorg / odd-lot tender fee | $0 Help center: 'We also accept orders to participate in voluntary corporate actions like tender offers'. source · Oct 30, 2026 | $50 Tender offer / reorg processing (domestic) is also $50. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| DRIP (auto dividend reinvestment) | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 | Yes Unsellable fractions from dividends are sold for you at no cost. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fractional share trading | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 | Yes ($5 min) $1 minimum inside an Investment Plan; not every security is eligible. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Rate on uninvested cash | 3.6% APY (Gold) Requires Robinhood Gold subscription and opting in to High-Yield Cash. Non-Gold rate not stated on this page. source · Oct 30, 2026 | 3.30% APY High-Yield Cash Account (a separate brokerage account). 3.75% with the paid Public Reserve subscription. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
Full pages: Robinhood fees · Public fees · Robinhood cash rate · Public cash rate
Questions
Is it cheaper to leave Robinhood or Public?
Full transfer-out: Robinhood $0, Public $100 (official fee schedules).
Which pays more on cash, Robinhood or Public?
Robinhood: 3.6% APY (Gold) (Requires Robinhood Gold subscription and opting in to High-Yield Cash. Non-Gold rate not stated on this page). Public: 3.30% APY (High-Yield Cash Account (a separate brokerage account). 3.75% with the paid Public Reserve subscription).
Sources
- https://cdn.robinhood.com/assets/robinhood/legal/RHF%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
- https://public.com/disclosures/fee-schedule
- https://public.com/disclosures/public-dividend-reinvestment-information
- https://public.com/disclosures/public-fractional-shares-disclosure
- https://public.com/high-yield-cash-account
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/gold/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/dividend-reinvestment/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/fractional-shares/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/mergers-stock-splits-and-more/
Each source was read on or before Oct 30, 2026. Fees and rates change; confirm on the broker's site before acting.